Turning off the WYSIWYG Editor

First of all, what is WYSIWYG? WYSIWYG stands for What You See Is What You Get. This has become a common name for the text or content editor of a website, because what you see in the editor is what you get on the page.

The way a WYSIWYG Editor works is that it translates the text, images, etc. into HTML so that it appears the way you wanted it to. The Content Management System WYGIWYG Editor includes an HTML button so that you can edit the content in HTML. Unfortunately, in attempts to translate the content, there are some cases in which the WYSIWYG Editor changes HTML that was entered manually. In these cases you can now turn off the WYSIWYG Editor completely by un-checking the box above the editor. Of course, it can also be turned back on by checking the same box.

When would I turn off the WYSIWYG Editor?

Here's a few examples of when you might want to turn off the WYSIWYG Editor:

  • Inserting a YouTube video
  • Inserting a Map, such as MapQuest, Google, Yahoo, etc.
  • Inserting a Facebook application
  • Inserting a Calendar
  • Inserting an iFrame

 

Artistry Labs

©2017 Technical Support. All Rights Reserved.